XXVI Annual Report of the Indian Phytopathological Society for the year 1972

Mr. President, Members of the Indian Phytopathological Society, Ladies and Gentlemen :

I am presenting herewith the 26th Annual report of the Society for the year 1972.

Sixty eight new members joined the Society, 10 as life members and 58 as ordinary members while 180 discontinued their membership. I regret to report the death during the year of four members—Sir F. C. Bawden, FRS, Dr. Miss V. Sithalaxshmi, Shri N. N. Desh Prabhu and Dr. G. S. Kulkarni. The number of members on the Society's roll was 920 and that of subscribers 428.

During the year vol. XXIV 3 and 4, 1971 and vol XXV No 1, 1972 have been issued. This year we are behind by three (3) numbers of Journal and we have given material for No. 2 and 3 of vol. XXV, 1972 for publication to the press and it is hoped that they will be out by middle of February 1973.

The financial position of the Society continues to be satisfactory. The amount to the credit of the Society in the S. B. Account with M/s National and Grindlay's Bank Ltd. (Lloyd's Branch), New Delhi and cash on hand together as on 30th November 1972 was Rs. 45,247.94; in addition a sum of Rs. 10,000/- has been invested in 12 years National Defence Certificates in 1969. As per the resolution passed by the General body at its Annual Meeting held at New Delhi on April 29, 1972, a sum of Rs. 40,000/- has been invested in Fixed Deposit Account for 5 years. Thus the total assets amount to Rs. 95,247.94. Several cheques are still in the process of collection.

During the year the receipts amount to Rs. 48,833.21 and expenditure to Rs. 45,653.39, thus leaving a balance of Rs. 3,179.32. We have paid the cost of printing of vol. XXIV, Nos. 3 and 4, 1971 of Indian Phytopathology. The printing of the journal continues to be in the hands of M/s Kapoor Art Press, New Delhi as before.

I am happy to inform you that four (4) more members —Dr. V. S. Verma, Dr. S. Jain, Dr. G. C. Rath and Dr. Z. Hidaka of the Japan have expressed their desire to become Fellows of the Society. It is most unfortunate that we lost one of our Honorary Fellows, this year in the death of Sir Frederick C. Bawden, FRS, who was also Vice-President of Royal Society, London, Director, Rothamsted Experimental Station, U. K., and a Virologist of International repute.

During the year, Prof. R. L. Wain, FRS Hony. Director, Agricultural Research Council, Plant Growth Substances and Systemic Fungicides Unit, Wye College, Ashford, Kent (UK) delivered a lecture "Chemical basis of disease resistance in plants" on 18th December, 1972 under the auspices of the Society.

I am glad to report that the 10th Mundkur Memorial Lecture is being delivered by Dr. S. P. Raychaudhuri, Head, Division of Mycology and Plant Pathology, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi. We are indeed thankful to him for accepting this assignment. We are also thankful to Dr. R. S. Vasudeva, FNA, for kindly accepting our request to preside over this lecture.

Plant disease problems :

During the year some more copies worth Rs. 3704.90 have been sold. I once again take this opportunity to appeal to all members present here to lend their helping hand by buying it and also bring it to the notice of other members, and Institutions as copies are still available from stock.

Twenty-five years of Plant Pathology :

Efforts are still being made to bring out this important publication. We have tried several sources for financial assistance, but so far we have not been successful. We have not lost hope and are still trying.

Prof. M. J. Narsimhan Academic Award Contest :

During the XXIV Annual General Meetings of the Society held of Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi on 29th and 30th April 1972, First Contest for this award was held. Ten young scientists from different parts of the country tookpart. Drs. J. S. Jhooty and G. C. Rath were declared to be the winners by the judges and the prize money of Rs. 500/- was equally divided between them. This year we have received 13 abstracts of papers to be presented; all of them have been approved for presentation. We are thankful to Dr. R. Prasada, Professor (Emeritus), Plant Pathology, Udaipur University, Jobner, Rajasthan for having accepted our invitation to preside over this years' contest.

Revision of constitution :

As a result of the circulation of revised draft constitution to all the members, we have received a large number of comments/suggestions. These were compiled together articlewise of the original constitution by Dr. P. N. Patel and now it is in an up-to-date form in all respects. It includes original articles and Bylaws; amendments passed from time to time; proposed amendments for 1972 and suggestions received from members. Now it is going to be placed before you after a short while for full discussion and adoption. All the credit for completing this gigantic task in time goes to Dr. P. N. Patel and the Society is highly indebted to him.

Executive Council Meetings :

During the year under report, three meetings of the council were held out of which one was an emergency meeting.

Election of the Council for 1972 :

The 59th session of the Indian Science Congress to be held in January 1972 at Aligarh was postponed due to National emergency, so we could not hold annual meeting in January. The ballot papers received for the election of Council for 1972 were opened at New Delhi on 4.2.1972 in the presence of Prof. T. S. Sadasivan, Dr. D. N. Srivastava, Dr. H. K. Saxena, Dr. P. N. Patel, Dr. B. M. Gupta, Mr. T. K. Nariani, Mr. V. C. Lele, and Dr. V. V. Chenulu. The President for 1971 nominated Prof. T. S. Sadasivan and Dr. B. M. Gupta as the returning officers to which they have kindly agreed. The total ballot papers received were 435, out of which 11 were found invalid. The result was declared and successful members were informed on 5th Feb. 1972.

As you are all aware our Annual General Meetings are usually held in conjunction with the Indian Science Congress. We rely very much on the organizers of the Science Congress for providing facilities and for local arrangements. We are grateful to the local Secretaries of the Science Congress, especially Prof. P. N. Mehra and Dr. Satija for providing accommodation and for making other arrangements to hold our meetings here in Chandigarh. Finally we are grateful to Prof. K. S. Thind, Professor of Botany, Punjab University, Chandigarh, and Dr. G. S. Rawla, Lecturer in the Department of Botany, for providing all help, guidance and information regarding local arrangements, etc.

I take this opportunity to express our gratefulness to Prof. R. N. Tandon, Professor of Botany (Retd.), Allahabad University, Allahabad who has kindly accepted our invitation for chairing the Annual meeting during which the Presidential address would be delivered.

Finally, I wish to place on record my gratefulness to my colleagues at Headquarters, Mr. T. K. Nariani (Jt. Secretary), Dr. M. S. Chatrath (Treasurer) for their help in various ways. I am extremely grateful to Dr. S.P. Raychaudhuri, Chief Editor and Head of the Division of Mycology and Plant Pathology, for his advice and help at all times. I am especially grateful to Shri Girdhari Lal Ji for his inexhaustible patience and energy in running the affairs of the Society in a smooth and efficient manner. Last but not the least I am grateful to the office bearers outside the headquarters, for their co-operation and help whenever solicited.

> (V. V. CHENULU) Secretary